If it sounds like a Duck— It might be a Frog

I was walking along the Clear Fork a couple of days ago and coming from a pond that has formed back in the forest, I heard what I was sure were Wood Ducks quacking.  I was only about fifty feet from the waters edge, and although the quacking kept up, I didn’t see any ducks. When I got home I did some online research and found the following:

“If you’re out for a walk this month, and you hear something that sounds like ducks quacking, don’t expect to see ducks. The call of a male wood frog fools a lot of people. The all-male frog chorus is revving up now, and wood frog males are the first to announce their availability to females.

Wood frogs spend all but a few weeks in woodland habitat while the other true frogs hang out in water. On a rainy spring night, some signal known only to wood frogs triggers their nearly simultaneous mass migration from woodlands to vernal pools. When you hear wood frogs quacking, you know there’s a vernal pool nearby, formed by snow melt and spring rains. The males advertise, females respond, eggs are laid and fertilized, and the adults return to the safety of the woods. Their camouflage coloring blends well with leaf litter on the forest floor, so a quick return to safe habitat favors their survival.”

I’ve seen this frog before but didn’t know the name of it. Now I not only know the name, but also know that there is a whole herd of them in the Mohican State Forest.

 Ain’t the internet grand???

About The Western Artist

This is the site of "The Western Artist's Newsletter. I use it to track the progress of the Art that I am currently creating. The typical Newsletter publishes once or twice a month, depending of how creative I am at any given time.
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail, Backpacks, Camping Gear, Canada Geese, Dumb Old Men, Hiking Gear, Mohican Forest, Mohican State Park, Walkers Walk-Abouts, Wood Frogs. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If it sounds like a Duck— It might be a Frog

  1. Jan says:

    Thank you for that information I knew it was frogs but didn’t know what kind sound like bull frogs

    Like

Leave a Reply

