Testing the Gear

Saturday afternoon I decided that it was time to test out the gear that I have been carrying around in my backpack for the last couple of weeks. So I registered for a campsite with the ODNR Forestry and hiked about 10 miles into the Mohican Memorial Forest and set up camp for the night.

The Barred Owl’s hooting call, “Who cooks for you? Who cooks for you-all?” is a classic sound of old forests. 

I was able to set up my tent, get the air mattress blown up and unroll my sleeping bag in less than an hour. I made some coffee an watched the sunset for about a half an hour, then settled in for the night.

That’s when the Barred Owl pictured above (Not my picture) started advertising it’s presence. I never saw it, but it was in one of the trees right over my head, and kept calling for about 45 minutes before flying off. Pretty Cool!!!

I’ll need to make a few adjustments to my pack. I’ll be removing  some items that I won’t need/want to carry, and adding some other stuff that might come in handy. (Toilet paper.) However, I think this will work.

Five days to go before starting the AT in Georgia,

About The Western Artist

This is the site of "The Western Artist's Newsletter. I use it to track the progress of the Art that I am currently creating. The typical Newsletter publishes once or twice a month, depending of how creative I am at any given time.
This entry was posted in Amicalola Falls, Appalachian Trail, Backpacks, Barred Owl, Camping Gear, Hiking Gear, Mohican Forest, Mohican State Park, Walkers Walk-Abouts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

