Stover Creek

I arrived at the Stover Creek Shelter at about 2:00 PM. Nobody was around, so I signed the “Trail Log” for this shelter with a message, and signed my new Trail Name, “SweetOleBob”.

The Trail runs along Stover Creek for about a mile and a half, but although you can hear the water running off to your right as you walk the Trail, you can’t see the creek. This is because there are huge Rhododendrons, Mountian Laurels, and Azaleas (Some of these are twenty feet tall.) growing around and over the trail making a total screen.

This Picture was taken from further down the Trail.

 Stover Creek eventually joins with Long Falls Creek and Chester Creek at the Three Forks Foot Bridge.

I refreshed my water supply for the evening meal here.

 I followed Long Falls Creek, up the side of Hawk Mountain with the intent of staying there for the night, and I was doing great until I came across this.

 and this 

and just a ways back in the woods found this.

This is Hickory Flats Cemetery

This was too much to ignore, so I spent over an hour exploring the area and as a result ran out of daylight. The result was that instead of getting to Hawk Mountain Shelter for the evening, I ended up sleeping out in the woods.

“Don’t Worry Lizzy, I got the Bear Spray”,

About The Western Artist

This is the site of "The Western Artist's Newsletter. I use it to track the progress of the Art that I am currently creating. The typical Newsletter publishes once or twice a month, depending of how creative I am at any given time.
This entry was posted in Amicalola Falls, Appalachian Trail, Backpacks, Camping Gear, Hawk Mountain, Hickory Flats Cemetery, Scenery, Stover Creek, Three Forks Bridge, Uncategorized, Walkers Walk-Abouts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

