After My Nap

I woke up after a couple of hours of sleep, mainly because increased activity around the shelter. The rain had stopped, but the word of impending thunderstorms had spread in the hiking community. The shelter was full, and there had to be twenty campsites set up around the immediate area.

With the current population underway, I went exploring and found what everyone back home had worried about—-BEAR IN THE WOODS!!!!!

Can you see him???

How about now?

Not to worry, I was carrying my “Bear Spray”.

This encounter got me to looking for other varmints, and I found the following “Wood Spirits”:

    

I’m sure that all of this had something to do with all of the drugs (Ibuprofen) I had taken. I returned to the shelter.

Someone had built a campfire outside the shelter, and I found that I was surrounded by “Kids” in their twenties and thirties. There were a couple of older youths that looked to be in their early sixties, but they were keeping their distance.

Then the rain started again, this time accompanied by thunder and lightning. (I counted the time between the lightning flash and the thunder and found that the storm was ten or fifteen miles away) Everyone scattered back to their campsites.

        The fire went out so I climbed back into my corner and went to sleep,

About The Western Artist

This is the site of "The Western Artist's Newsletter. I use it to track the progress of the Art that I am currently creating. The typical Newsletter publishes once or twice a month, depending of how creative I am at any given time.
This entry was posted in Appalachian Trail, Backpacks, Canada Geese, Dumb Old Men, Hawk Mountain, Hiking Gear, Walkers Walk-Abouts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

